Planted

Hey Guys!

We are back with our insightful devotions! Let me just say a big THANK YOU for your continued support. It is my hope that this blesses you as it has blessed me.

We are about to embark on a series that I call “Planted”. It deals with the revelation that God has made we who are in Christ, inaccessible to the destructive power of the enemy. He has hedged us in, He encompasses us. The writer says, “He daily loads us with benefits.” He has set us and planted us among the great and in anticipation of our fruit, He has given us the avenues and resources to fulfill a great purpose.

In this study, we will be looking at Isaiah 5. Throughout the life of Jesus, He often referred to Himself as the vine, and we, the branches. In this text, the Lord says that the vineyard represent His chosen people. (Isaiah 5:7). Today we will begin to examine the different aspects of this concept as we read through.

Isaiah 5:1 “Now will I sing to my wellbeloved a song of my beloved touching his vineyard. My wellbeloved hath a vineyard in a very fruitful hill:” 

tuscany-grape-field-nature-51947.jpeg

The first thing we recognize about the vineyard is its location. It is in a fertile or fruitful place. “A VERY fruitful hill”. We must understand that in order for a germinated plant to come forth, for the vine to be enabled to produce, the soil must be fertile to supply the nutrients the vine needs and the place must also be well watered. This brings us to another valid point, which is that that the vineyard is situated on a hill. For those who study geography, it is known that hills attract rain. We can therefore deduce that not only is the soil fertile (packed with nutrients) but it is being watered.

The hill is an elevated place, it is a place that the eye of every passerby will see. God’s intent is not for His people to be hidden, but He wants the world to know that those of us who have made Jesus Christ our Lord, belong to Him and He wants to showcase us!

Using this analogy, we deduce that the Lord has set us in an elevated place which is well watered and planted us in soil that is able to supply us with the nutrients necessary for our growth. He wants us to prosper, in every good thing and therefore has made it possible by supplying us with everything that we need. Scripture declares that we are blessed with ALL spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ Jesus. (Ephesians 1:3).

pexels-photo-356079.jpeg

Self Examination: Where are you planted? Are you part of the vineyard of the Lord that is set up to flourish? Or are you still groping your way through this dark world hoping that something good will happen for you? This is one of the most important questions that you can ask yourself because where you are planted determines how you grow, the conditions that are there and the fruit you produce. In order to move forward, it is profitable to check the location of your roots!

Prayer

Father, I thank You for the entrance of Your word that brings light. This day, I examine my heart before You and I ask that You will show me my state. Show me whether I have placed my roots in the wrong soil. I want to flourish as You want me to Lord, so that I will show forth Your glory. Be with me today I pray and guide me with Your word. In Jesus name, AMEN!

By Joanna Lloyd

 


Leave a comment